Partizan and Valencia will receive EuroLeague wildcards

2022-06-16 09:50
Credit: Srdjan Stevanovic - Getty Images
Credit Srdjan Stevanovic - Getty Images

Partizan NIS Belgrade and Valencia Basket will receive wildcards for the upcoming EuroLeague season, BasketNews sources confirmed. EuroLeague also officially confirmed such information in its press release.

The majority of the stakeholders have decided to suspend Russian teams CSKA Moscow and Zenit St. Petersburg for at least one more season.

7 of 11 A Licence clubs voted for the suspension (two remained neutral), BasketNews sources confirmed.

The board has decided that Partizan and Valencia will receive the wildcards for the 2022-23 season.

"Teams from the Russian Federation are suspended from participation in the 2022-23 competitions due to events derived from the ongoing war in Ukraine. The decision is taken due to the increasing difficulties for teams to play games against teams from that country, which include air travel restrictions and prohibitions or other limitations to issuing visas to Russian residents," the EuroLeague Basketball stated in the press release.

"This decision also took into consideration similar ones taken by other international team sports organizations like the IOC, UEFA, FIBA, EHF (handball), EHF (hockey), and FIVB, amongst others, as well as statements made by 37 European ministers of sports who asserted that Russian Federation teams should be banned from competing in their countries," it was added in the official statement.

"Executive Board members also considered that protecting the integrity and regularity of the competition and the safety of all stakeholders is the ultimate priority and should not be put at risk."

Partizan will make its return to the EuroLeague for the first time since the 2013-14 season. Meanwhile, Valencia will make a straight comeback after spending last season in the EuroCup.

With Partizan and Valencia receiving the wildcards, the 2022-23 season EuroLeague's roster is completed as well, as Crvena Zvezda secured their entry through winning the Adriatic league.

The 2022-23 EuroLeague season will include these teams:

  • Anadolu Efes Istanbul
  • Real Madrid
  • FC Barcelona
  • Olympiacos Piraeus
  • AS Monaco
  • AX Armani Exchange
  • FC Bayern Munich
  • Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv
  • Fenerbahce Beko Istanbul
  • Crvena Zvezda mts Belgrade
  • Bitci Baskonia Vitoria-Gasteiz
  • LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne
  • ALBA Berlin
  • Panathinaikos OPAP Athens
  • Zalgiris Kaunas
  • Virtus Bologna
  • Partizan NIS Belgrade
  • Valencia Basket

Show comments

Add comment

  Total comments: 0

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website