EuroLeague stars headline French NT roster for matchup vs Montenegro

2022-06-29 08:02
Credit: Mourad ALLILI/SIPA, - Scanpix
Credit Mourad ALLILI/SIPA, - Scanpix

Ahead of the 2023 FIBA World Cup Qualifiers matchup against Montenegro, the French Basketball Federation (FFBB) has announced the 12-man roster of the country's national team.

The head coach of the team, Vincent Collet, and the general manager and former national team great, Boris Diaw, have unveiled the names after a training camp in Nanterre.

The team will be headlined by LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne star guard Elie Okobo and Real Madrid center Vincent Poirier. Virtus Segafredo Bologna player Isaia Cordinier suffered a contusion during training, while Dallas Mavericks guard Frank Ntilikina has been feeling pain in his foot for some time - the two players will not help the team in the two games during the window. 

It will be the first time playing for the French national team for Okobo in more than four years. The last time he played for the squad was on February 25th, 2018 in the 2019 FIBA World Cup Qualifiers. Then-20-year-old scored 5 points in 17 minutes against Belgium. 

With a record of 4 wins and 0 losses, Vincent Collet's men sit at the top of Group E and are already through to the 2nd qualifying phase, which will begin in August, and are aiming for first place in their group.

The first match of the window against Montenegro is scheduled for July 1st in Podgorica. The team will welcome Hungary back in France on July 4th to close out the round.

French national team's roster for the upcoming match against Montenegro:

  1. Andrew Albicy (PG, Gran Canaria)
  2. Petr Cornelie (C, Denver Nuggets)
  3. Mouhammadou Jaiteh (PF/C, Virtus Segafredo Bologna)
  4. Louis Labeyrie (PF/C, formerly Valencia Basket)
  5. Paul Lacombe (SG, LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne)
  6. Nicolas Lang (SG/SG, CSP Limoges)
  7. Amath M'Baye (PF, Pinar Karsiyaka)
  8. Theo Maledon (PG, Oklahoma City Thunder)
  9. Elie Okobo (PG/SG, LDLC ASVEL Villeurbanne)
  10. Yakuba Ouattara (SG/SF, AS Monaco)
  11. Vincent Poirier (C, Real Madrid)
  12. Terry Tarpey (SF, Le Mans BC)

Show comments

Add comment

  Total comments: 0

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website