EuroBasket MVP race: Favorites to win it with Doncic, Giannis and Jokic out of competition

2022-09-15 14:31

In the long-time history of EuroBasket, only once the MVP of the tournament prize went to a player who did not make the Top 4 with his team.

Credit: FIBA
Credit FIBA

Three brightest FIBA EuroBasket 2022 stars, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Nikola Jokic, and Luka Doncic, did not make it to the competition semifinals, thereby eliminating their chances of fighting for the MVP award.

In all 40 EuroBaskets, only once the MVP of the tournament prize went to a player who did not make the Top 4 with his national team. It happened in 1963, when Emiliano Rodriguez, the 7th-place finisher with the Spanish NT, became the EuroBasket MVP, averaging 26.6 points per game.

Only one other time MVP became a player who did not win a medal. It happened in 1949 when the Turkish NT member, Huseyin Ozturk, became the MVP. Back then, Turkey finished fourth, while Ozturk averaged 19.3 points.

26 times the EuroBasket MVP became a player of the gold-winning team, 10 times – a silver medalist, and twice – a bronze medalist.

Since 1963, the MVP has been the player who competed in the EuroBasket final.

After thrilling quarterfinal matches, the four strongest EuroBasket 2022 teams have been revealed. Ahead of the semifinals, BasketNews presents the top contenders for the tournament's MVP award.

First, let's take a look at all the EuroBasket MVP winners and the places their respective national teams captured:

Year  MVP  Team's place
1935 Rafael Martin (Spain) 2
1937 Pranas Talzunas (Lithuania) 1
1939 Mykolas Ruzgys (Lithuania) 1
1946 Ferenc Nemeth (Hungary) 3
1947 Joann Lossov (Soviet Union) 1
1949 Huseyin Ozturk (Turkey) 4
1951 Ivan Mrazek (Czechoslovakia) 2
1953 Anatoly Konev (Soviet Union) 1
1955 Janos Greminger (Hungary) 1
1957 Jiri Baumruk (Czechoslovakia) 3
1959 Viktor Zubkov (Soviet Union) 1
1961 Radivoj Korac (Yugoslavia) 2
1963 Emiliano Rodriguez (Spain) 7
1965 Modestas Paulauskas (Soviet Union) 1
1967 Jiri Zednicek (Czechoslovakia) 2
1969 Sergei Belov (Soviet Union) 1
1971 Kresimir Cosic (Yugoslavia) 2
1973 Wayne Brabender (Spain) 2
1975 Kresimir Cosic (Yugoslavia) 1
1977 Drazen Dalipagic (Yugoslavia) 1
1979 Miki Berkovich (Israel) 2
1981 Valdis Valters (Soviet Union) 1
1983 Juan Antonio Corbalan (Spain) 2
1985 Arvydas Sabonis (Soviet Union) 1
1987 Nikos Galis (Greece) 1
1989 Drazen Petrovic (Yugoslavia) 1
1991 Toni Kukoc (Yugoslavia) 1
1993 Chris Welp (Germany) 1
1995 Sarunas Marciulionis (Lithuania) 2
1997 Sasa Djordjevic (Serbia) 1
1999 Gregor Fucka (Italy) 1
2001 Peja Stojakovic (Serbia) 1
2003 Sarunas Jasikevicius (Lithuania) 1
2005 Dirk Nowitzki (Germany) 2
2007 Andrei Kirilenko (Russia) 1
2009 Pau Gasol (Spain) 1
2011 Juan Carlos Navarro (Spain) 1
2013 Tony Parker (France) 1
2015 Pau Gasol (Spain) 1
2017 Goran Dragic (Slovenia) 1

It is necessary to mention that in 1939, the EuroBasket MVP should not have been Mykolas Ruzgys but Pranas Lubinas. MVP was not given for the latter Lithuanian due to his excessive height.

In the 2022 European Championship, seven players with the highest number in EFF did not make it to the semifinals, including the Big Three of Giannis Antetokounmpo (31.0 EFF on average), Nikola Jokic (29.2 EFF), and Luka Doncic (25.0 EFF).

Of those players, who made it to the Top 4, Willy Hernangomez is the most effective athlete on the court. The Spanish center averages 17.9 points, 7.1 rebounds, and 19.6 EFF (8th result in the tournament) over 21 playing minutes.

The second on the Spanish national team in terms of points (avg. 13.4 PTS) and efficiency (avg. 13.7 EFF) is naturalized American Lorenzo Brown.

The Polish national team also has a player who is in the Top 10 most efficient players. Mateusz Ponitka accumulated 40 EFF in the quarterfinals battle against Slovenia and is now averaging 15.0 points, 6.4 rebounds, 6.9 assists, and 18.6 EFF.

Another Polish front-runner A.J. Slaughter is posting 14.3 points and 12.6 EFF.

Rudy Gobert stands out in the French national team, whose efficiency marks 17.0 EFF. In the Round of 16 and the quarterfinal stage, the new Minnesota Timberwolves signing averaged 19.5 points, 15.5 rebounds, and 24.0 EFF.

Evan Fournier, with an average of 15.0 points, is the top scorer of the French NT. However, his efficiency reaches only 6.7 EFF.

Thomas Heurtel collects 12.0 EFF, while Guerschon Yabusele – 11.3 EFF.

Two players stand out in the German national team. Dennis Schroder is averaging 20.2 points, 7.2 assists, and 14.7 EFF.

Not far behind him is Franz Wagner, who is recording 13.1 EFF. The Orlando Magic talent also registers 16.3 points and 4.1 rebounds.

Germany will face Spain in the EuroBasket 2022 semifinals on Friday (September 16) at 20:30 CEST. Before that, at 17:15 CEST, France will test Poland.

A final EuroBasket day is Sunday (September 18), with third-place and first-place games.

You can find all EuroBasket players' statistics by clicking here.



Unless there is an unwritten rule prohibiting players on non podium teams from winning MVP, I don't see how the award doesn't go to Giannis. Giannis has already secured himself as the tournament's Top Scorer and most efficient player. He arguably has the top highlight of the tournament against Croatia too. Greece was also the only team to be undefeated up until the Quarter Final stage. The FIBA Eurobasket MVP deserves to go to the best player in the world.

Add comment

  Subscribe   Total comments: 1

We have the right to remove comments which are offensive, contains abusive language, or violates other rules of the website